The Stobart Lesters 2017

Racing UK viewers can now vote for two of the most sought-after Stobart Lesters Awards, the Jump Ride of the Year 2017 and the Flat Ride of the Year 2017, with polls closing at midnight on Wednesday 29th November.

The nominations, compiled by Racing UK and At The Races experts, are:

Flat Ride of the Year 2017 nominees

Josephine Gordon on High End, Chelmsford, 25th July:

Josephine Gordon showed great strength in the saddle to get High End up to win at Chelmsford in July. After showing signs of greenness early on, the well fancied favourite looked to be struggling to make any impact as the field turned into the straight. Gordon refused to be denied however and lifted the debutant home to lead in the shadows of the post.

Ryan Moore on Gustav Klimt, Newmarket, 15th July:

Caught in a pocket and bustled by his rivals, Ryan Moore looked in trouble approaching the climb to the finish. As a consequence Ryan had to extract his mount from the trouble and plot a course up the far rail. He then delivered the favourite under a strong drive to just get up to win by a head.

Callum Rodriquez on Nakeeta, York, 26th August:

Callum Rodriguez looked anything but a 5lb claimer with a masterful ride in one of the biggest handicaps in Europe. Content to sit out the back, Rodriguez made steady progress with half a mile to run before taking a narrow gap with a furlong to go. Under a strong drive, Rodriguez edged out Flymetothestars, not letting a lost rein distract him either.

Danny Tudhope on Bravery, Doncaster, 1st April:

Danny Tudhope started the season with a bang when steering Bravery to success in the Lincoln at Doncaster in April. Drawn 20 of 22 on the stands side of the track, Tudhope deliberately missed the break in order to hack over to the far side and get his mount settled. With a determined Ryan Moore looking set to land an opening day four timer, Tudhope had other ideas and produced his mount brilliantly in the final furlong to take the opening day showpiece.

Jumps Ride of the Year 2017 nominees

Tommy Dowson on Captain Sharpe, Hexham, 23rd May:

Tommy Dowson produced a remarkable ride to get Captain Sharpe up to win at Sedgefield in May. At the rear of the field for much of the journey and pushed along beginning the final circuit, Dowson and the Captain were in 5th place approaching the final fence and after touching 999-1 in running there appeared little chance, but Dowson kept persevering and a withering late run sealed the most unlikely of victories.

Derek Fox on One For Arthur, Aintree, 8th April:

Derek Fox, who had only just returned from injury, had seemingly dropped off the TV screen for the first two miles, having been out the back for most of the early stages. Fox waited and waited, and then waited some more, intent on utilising every drop of stamina from his marathon mount. Having bided his time for most of four miles, he made smooth headway three fences out and drew clear on the run-in. Balls of steel!

Will Kennedy on Dear Sire, Musselburgh, 1st March:

Described by the commentator as 'ride of the year', Will Kennedy tracked the leaders and took the lead two out, then made a miraculous recovery after blundering at the last. Will galvanised his mount without irons and gamely kept on to win.

Harry Teal on Howaboutnever, Worcester, 18th July:

Harry Teal produced a brilliant never say die ride on Howaboutnever at Worcester in July. The game looked up as the field turned for home and victory still looked unlikely with the pair only 6th jumping the last, but Teal refused to give in and produced a stirring finish from his mount to land the prize on the run to the line.

The prestigious accolades will be awarded to the winners on Friday 29th December on ‘The Stobart Lesters 2017 Get In Programme’ on At The Races.



Select any odd to add a bet

Single Bets

Enter a stake to place a bet

Total Stake: 

This video is playing in Picture-In-Picture. Click to Exit.
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.